Discouragement


Discouragement, we all face it at some point in our lives; whether it’s from repeatedly getting rejections, low self-worth, loss of a loved one or feeling as if what you are doing isn’t making a difference.  When we don’t see the results we would like to see, we can either give up or keep fighting; Knowing which one to do is probably the hardest thing I have ever experienced.

When I decided to become an Alcohol and Drug Addiction Counselor I knew it would be difficult and very risky, since I am in Recovery myself; but I kept feeling my heart tugging me in that direction.  There were many prayers prayed and many questions asked, but I made a decision to go forward with my plans.  The studying became harder and harder, the tests were 4 and a half hours long and I was exhausted from working 2 jobs and going to classes; but I kept going, refusing to give up.

I was told that once I finished the classes and passed the state examine that I would    become an official counselor at the facility I was working at , at the time.  However that didn’t happen; They didn’t keep their promise and it really discouraged me to the point of being sick.  I kept to myself for sometime and the  bitterness only grew deeper and deeper; then one day I fell to my knees and asked God to do for me what I couldn’t do for myself.  It wasn’t a week later and they cut my hours to 2 days a week and the worst part was I had to call to find this information out because my gut kept telling me something was wrong.  I was outraged and hurt.  Then I took it out on myself; telling myself that I must not be meant for this job because I was not good at what I did.  My self-esteem dropped to the lowest it had been in quite some time.  Not long after that, the pain of being at this particular facility was more than I could take; So I applied for a position at Bradford Health Services , which is where I went to treatment; I never dreamed I would get the job.  I felt I was too “lower class” for them to even consider me, however I did it anyway, because I could no longer stay where I was.  The next business day the Supervisor contacted me and asked me to come in for an interview.  I was so excited,, and before long I was a Counselor at Bradford.  That was a dream come true.

No matter what you are going through, when you know without a doubt that you are doing what you need to be doing, then by all means stick with it, but when you know it’s time to change, make the change.  God can open the doors you never thought were possible.

And don’t ever allow anyone cause you to feel less than.

(((hugs & Love)))

Wendy

http://www.wingsofencouragement.net/

Leave a Reply

