Weathering the Storms


There is nothing wrong with feeling sad about something that has or is going on in your life; Actually there’s nothing wrong with feeling sorry for yourself every once in a while; Just don’t unpack and stay in that place for long.  Sometimes I have to make myself get up and do something, no matter how small of a task it may be.  For instance, once when I was going through some very difficult times, I had to force myself to brush my teeth; yes that’s what I said, brush my teeth.  The self-pity had turned into full-blown depression and the task of waking up seemed to often be, more than I could handle.  I am grateful to say that eventually, with the help of friends and family, I was able to crawl out of that dark place; but one thing I am not confused about is that if I don’t continue to do what it is I need to do, spiritually, mentally, & physically, it won’t be long until I am right back in that dark place.

Yes, it’s hard sometimes and pushing myself is not something that comes easy for me.  However, I have noticed that when I just look at one small task, focus on it and not worry about the whole picture; I tend to get more accomplished.  So if you’ve been struggling with being struck, down, or depressed; try taking a very small task and working to accomplish it.  Who knows you might be able to see it through to the end, or even better it may ignite that spark within you that seems to have faded away.

(((hugs & love))))

Wendy

Leave a Reply

