Life on Life’s Terms


Addicts and Alcoholics have a very difficult , if not impossible time, accepting Life on Life’s Terms.  This has always been particularly hard for me and although I am much better than I use to be, I am by far not perfect at it.  There are things that happen on this Universe that I just don’t understand and the more I try to , the more frustrated and angry I become.

In Recovery we have to find a way that works for us, in order to ensure that we no longer use drugs or alcohol to cover up reality.  First of course is developing a working relationship with a God of your understanding; then we go even deeper and review or old beliefs and ideas; which can be revised at any time we choose.  I had to do just that, create new ideas and beliefs that worked for me or else I would never have gone forward in life.

Today I view things completely different from what I did a little over 7 years ago and I am much happier as a result of it.  I no longer believe that God makes bad things happen; I believe that Life just happens and sometimes it is extremely painful.   I believe in the “everything happens for a reason” slogan, but in a different aspect than others.  I do believe that everything happens for a reason, but on man occasions it’s at no fault of our own; I also don’t believe that God causes horrible things to happen, just to test us; I do believe that bad things happen to good people and that God can take those bad things and turn them into something good.  What I do know is that no matter what has happened in my life, no matter how painful it may have been, God has ALWAYS given me the strength to walk through it, always!

That’s the we I believe because that’s what works for me, but no matter how you believe, Just Believe and when it comes to Life on Life’s terms stuff; well the sooner you accept it the better off you are going to be.  Life happens, it keeps going; whether we like it or not; so you might as well accept it; it’s going to keep on going no matter what!

(((hugs & love)))

Wendy

Check out our store at http://www.wingsofencouragement.net/store.html for more inspirational jewelry and t-shirts and more;
New items will be arriving soon.

Leave a Reply

