Believe that you have what it takes


I can remember going through a very difficult time in my life and all I wanted to do was give up;

I didn’t see the sense in it all; things looked so hopeless and all I could do was wallow in self-pity, well as I was having my wonderful self-pity party, a friend of mine looked straight at me and said I know I wasn’t invited to this self-pity party of yours; of which I replied , “Oh but yes you were”.  She proceeded to tell me that Recovery was not easy; that life wasn’t easy for that matter; But it was worth it; no matter what you are going through it’s worth far more than you realize and it’s much greater now , than it was your worst day in active addiction.   I stood there speechless, because what I really wanted was someone to wallow in self-pity with me, however what she said was so full of truth!  I thanked her as I was hugging her neck and she looked me straight in the eyes and said…”Believe in yourself, Believe that you can do it, & Believe that you are worth it and that God has got your back!!”  I will never forget those words, for they changed my life that day.  Since then I recall her words often, especially when I am having a hard time believing that I am worth it.  

Know that you are worth whatever it takes to get you where it is you need to be.  Reach out to someone, call or write; Just don’t keep your feelings bottled up inside.  It’s okay to feel sorry for yourself for a little while; but there comes a point when it’s time to pick up and move on, may that time come quickly for you as you begin to see that you are worth it too!!

(((hugs & love)))

Wendy

http://www.wingsofencouragement.net/

One thought on “Believe that you have what it takes”

Leave a Reply

