Trust the Process


One of the most valuable lessons I have learned in Recovery is that the process is what it takes to get me to where I, not only want to be, but need to be.

I can remember the first time someone told me , “Wendy, Recovery & Life itself, is a process.”; Oh I was so frustrated.  I wanted to be “perfect”, I wanted to be “zapped” by a bolt of something, and made perfect.  Needless to say that is not how things have taken place in my life.  The difference is today, I am grateful for the process.

Don’t get me wrong, I usually go through things full of anger and kicking and screaming the entire way; yet today I don’t do all of that as much and I am sooner to let go than before.

All I do know is that it took what it took for me to get to where I needed to be; I had to be literally sick and tired of being sick and tired of a person, place, thing , or situation, before I would let go or change.  We can become so hard-headed and so strong-willed that it takes a traumatic experience to get our attention.  So today, I let go more, go with the flow often, and I just do the best that I can do; which is my part, and I let the God of my understanding do the rest.  As long as I can lay my head down at night and be ok with who I am and what I’ve done or haven’t done; then all is just fine in my world.

Wendy Box

 

One thought on “Trust the Process”

Leave a Reply

